Pen Tool Badge

So for my silhouette I chose to do Rory from Doctor Who because he is the best ever (my theory: characters named Rory are always the best). I found a good action shot of him in his Centurion garb (if you are intrigued about why he is dressed as a Roman, then you obviously need to watch the show!) and then made a silhouette happen. This was actually very easy to cut out…with the exception of his hand. I could never quite get the hand perfect, but after a while of trying I just shrugged and decided it was good enough. But I really like how it turned out–I’ve never done silhouettes before and they’re a cool effect, especially with the action shot. So without further ado…admire Rory in all his glory!

Image of Rory Williams in action

Image of Rory Williams in action again--but this time in a silhouette!

And now for the second part of the assignment. After scouring my Facebook pictures for something that could be inserted into a picture…I decided to use this one of me at Dinosaur World (my roommate and I stopped there on our drive back to DFW once because we’re the kind of people who do weird things like that. It was the greatest thing ever. I highly recommend it). Because it was an outdoor picture and I knew the lighting would be weird, I knew that I needed to put myself in a picture where I was outdoors. I originally wanted to insert myself into an episode of Angel, where Joss Whedon is dressed as a demon named Numfar and dances around (if you want to see…link to a video is here) because that is one of my favorites scenes of anything ever, but it was very difficult to find high resolution images of that. But for some reason in my search results for that, an image of Lost popped up, and I realized that that was perfect. So here is me crashing the Losties’ party, giving a thumbs up behind Sawyer. I had a bit of trouble for a while, because my feet are cut off in the original image so I had to hide myself behind someone, meaning that I had to use the pen tool on Sawyer/Kate/Claire as well to make it so they were in front of me and covering up my lack of feet. And so here is me, hanging out on the Island!

Me hanging out with a dinosaur.

Me hanging out on the island with the Losties. I'm way more excited to be there than they are.

As far as enjoying video vs. written tutorials, I personally definitely prefer written tutorials. I am definitely someone who likes to play with things and mess around and figure it out myself, so video tutorials majorly try my patience and I usually just end up messing with things and figuring it out by myself while the video plays uselessly in the background.

But the pen tool is a great tool to use and know. Definitely more accurate than the magnetic lasso tool (although I love that tool) and you have much more control than the polygonal lasso tool.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Pen Tool Badge

  1. Pingback: Pen Tool (Aly Miller) « Trinity Web Design Badges (Spring 2012)

Leave a comment